Amazon EC2 / cloud computing

Today I got a chance to play with Amazons cloud AWS and was impressed how quickly I could get a machine with my web application online, without having to study a lot of the infrastructure detail first.

All I had to do was go into their AWS management interface, click on create instance, pick one of the 2000 public virtual image templates (picked centos 5.2-git), download the ssh key for it while it was installing, and in less than 2 minutes I was logged into my new virtual machine through ssh without having to enter a password using that key.

I scp’ed my tarball at 450KB/s into the image, extracted it, yum installed httpd and php, and was able to access my webapp.

I had to shut it down to not incur per hour online costs, but it appears to me that I will be back with more 🙂

Here is the breakdown of public images that I saw on their interface:

293 ubuntu
80 debian
69 centos
54 fedora
18 gentoo
13 redhat
3 suse
78 windows
1 opensolaris
and the remaining 1400 where appear to be ‘other linux’

Now it’s time to study how to build and test my own images offline and how to do secure virtual networking between them when they are online…

~ by MrMichaelWill on May 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
